Annual General Meeting 2021

The Annual General Meeting of Taplow Club was held on 18 October. Members heard reports for the year and some news on plans for next season.

On the playing side, Rob Court was elected as first team captain for 2022, with Ben Daglish as vice captain. Ed Atkins was elected as second team captain with Ed Pettman as vice captain. Amar Dade will be taking over captaincy of the Sunday team with Dale Barton as vice captain.

The club Committee was re-elected en bloc. We would like to hear from anyone who might be interested in helping with social events with a view to taking over as Social Secretary. We would also be glad to hear from anyone who can help with fundraising and sponsorship.

Although shut throughout last winter, the club has benefitted from grants from the government, the ECB and Heart of Bucks, and a full summer of cricket saw takings at the bar and BBQ return to 2019 levels. The club is investing in replacing aging equipment. A new square mower and outfield mower have been purchased, and our 30-year old roller is being replaced for next season.

On the colts side, the club is looking at opportunities to provide more coaching for our younger players and to provide pathways toward adult cricket.

Chairman Andy Bond awarded the Marriott Trophy to Geoff Court. The shield is awarded to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the club. Geoff has been Buildings Secretary this year but has also covered as Bar Secretary and cutting the outfield, as well as many jobs around the club, including creating an umpires changing room which was required by the league. Thank you, Geoff!

Chairman Andy Bond presents Geoff Court with the Marriott Trophy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *